Huel_Logo_large_5_7ed55590-35a9-4c2c-9aa2-02af266ae92b

I was looking for an easy to make breakfast/meal replacement, that would provide all of my daily vitamins and minerals at an affordable price. Then I came across Huel.

IMG_4566

According to the Huel website:

“Huel is super convenient complete food, it provides an optimum balance of proteins, carbs, essential fats, fiber, and all 27 essential vitamins and minerals. Huel is high in protein and fiber, very low in sugar, is made from sustainable ingredients (oats, pea protein, brown rice protein, flaxseed, sunflower, coconut, plus a bespoke vitamin and mineral blend), 100% vegan (better for the environment and animals), requires minimal packaging, has a shelf-life of 12 months (so zero food waste), has a low of GI of 27, is filling, and costs as little as $1.95 for a 500 calorie meal.”

IMG_4572

It had everything I was looking for! Unfortunately I am a bit picky and had a few other requirements. I cannot eat artificial sweeteners because they give me a migraine and all of the flavors had sucralose in them. Lucky for me, they do make an unsweetened flavor, which can be enhanced with the strawberry flavor boost (which also does not have sweetener). Another thing I am big on is reducing the use of plastic in my house. My order came with a free plastic bottle, (which I refused and accepted a metal bottle in its place) and with plastic scoops (no replacement for these).

So I tried the powder as a meal replacement for a few days. It tastes like liquid oatmeal, or even cream of wheat. To me, this is a good thing. The directions say to use water, but after trying that once, I decided to use soy milk instead. Adding a banana (and a little agave sweetener) to the mix really made it a complete meal, in my opinion. The metal bottle they sell has a narrow opening and is pretty useless when making the shake, but works great as a water bottle.

Overall, this is a pretty decent, all-in-one shake that can be used as a meal replacement or as a snack. I don’t eat it every day, but when I’m in a rush and looking for a quick meal to keep me full at least till lunch, I go for my Huel.

About Huel:

Huel’s mission:
To make nutritionally complete, convenient, affordable food, with minimum impact on the environment and animals.

For more information:
https://huel.com/